The Year of Judy (Goodbye 2010)

December 31, 2010 § Leave a comment

2010 was the year of Judy Garland for me: I watched no less than six of her movies, which was rivaled only by Lauren Bacall (also six), Gene Kelly (four), and Elvis Presley (four). Clearly I was stuck on musicals this year. It felt like I watched a lot of Cary Grant movies this year, but when it came down to it, apparently there were only three. It seemed more like eight. A little Cary Grant goes a long way.

Of the 135 movies I saw for the first time this year (full list here), these were my top 15 favorites:

  • Queen Christina
  • Johnny Guitar
  • To Have and Have Not
  • The Pirate
  • Gwoemul/The Host
  • A Place in the Sun
  • The Harvey Girls
  • Giant
  • The Women
  • The Searchers
  • The Letter
  • Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
  • North West Frontier/Flame over India
  • Black Narcissus
  • and an honorable mention for A Little Princess (1995), which I’d seen as a child but forgotten about.

Basically, Western influences, bright colors, exotic settings? Check, check, and check.

For 2011, my movie goals are:

  • To watch more late ’60s/’70s films. I avoid them because I think I don’t like them, but whenever I’m actually roped into watching one, I always end up enjoying it.
  • To watch more foreign films. I know there’s more out there than Almodovar and Kurosawa; why aren’t I watching it?
  • To watch more Bette Davis movies. Self-explanatory.
Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Year of Judy (Goodbye 2010) at paper pop.

meta

