Holiday Viewing

November 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

One of the things I love most about the holiday season–and there are many things I love about the holiday season–is the televised movie spectaculars. Gone with the Wind was on AMC today, all day, repeated five or six times. In a week or two, we’ll get an airing of The Wizard of Oz or two. At some point PBS will air The Nutcracker, and after that it’ll be Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer and It’s a Wonderful Life and The Grinch all the way until Christmas Day.

It reminds me of the olden days, in an era before I existed, before those movies were available on video and the only time you could watch them was during the Christmas season. Even when I was a kid, I still have copies of these shows my parents taped for me off their Christmastime broadcasts. Wizard of Oz and Rudolph and a performance of the Mary Martin Peter Pan musical. I watched them so much through my childhood that I even have some of the old-school Christmastime commercials committed to memory. Today, watching Gone with the Wind, I had the same feeling–this warmth and connection of sharing something with other people, all of whom were getting off work for the holiday and thinking about what they were thankful for and what they were going to get their families for Christmas. Okay, so in reality I’m no more connected to everyone out there watching Gone with the Wind than I am with those who I watch any terrible 1940s musical on TCM with on any random night. But it feels different.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Holiday Viewing at paper pop.

meta

