Game of Thrones: Mulled Wine

November 25, 2011 § 1 Comment

Like everybody else right now, I’m making my way through the Song of Ice and Fire books. (I know everybody else is reading them because it took six months before the first book showed up in my library queue despite the library having 50 copies.) I’ve dedicated the last two months of my life to the first two books in the series. This is a new experience for me, since I don’t usually read adult fantasy. All my previous forays into the genre have been kid lit–all the Harry Potters and His Dark Materials, a slow and still-incomplete journey through the Narnia books, an even slower slog through The Hobbit which scared me away from The Lord of the Rings books for life, a deep and unyielding adoration for the Wizard of Oz books, a dip into The Once and Future King. My hesitance about fantasy has less to do with the actual trappings of the genre–I can get down with elves and magic wands and epic battles between good and evil, as my devotion to kids’ fantasy suggests. What has scared me off from the genre itself is the Tolkienism of it: a bunch of manly men tromping through the woods, doing manly things like going on quests and fighting bad guys, getting dirty and eating dead animals cooked on a spit and testing their strength and becoming Christ figures and ugh, enough with the testosterone already.

The up side of spending all my autumn nights curled up in a chair with a blanket and A Clash of Kings is this: I’ve developed quite the taste for mulled wine. I’m a sucker for hot alcoholic drinks in general–some of my fall and winter go-tos include apple cider with brandy or hot buttered rum–but mulled wine is quickly taking over as a favorite. My recipe is just a bottle of Cabernet, a generous splash of brandy, and some cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves heated together with a sliced & peeled orange and half a cup of sugar, but I’m excited about trying some of these recipes too. God, I love wine.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Game of Thrones: Mulled Wine

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Game of Thrones: Mulled Wine at paper pop.

meta

